Michigan Labor Law Changes
Recently, changes were made to Michigan's labor laws, including Michigan's Sick Leave Law and Michigan's Minimum Wage. Watch the video below to learn more about Michigan Labor Laws and contact us if you have any questions about how to comply.
Michigan Labor Law Vlog Transcript
|Chilah Weller:||Hello, everyone, and welcome back to this month’s Insight Beyond Payroll. I’m Chilah Weller.|
|Eric Jones:||And I’m Eric Jones.|
|Chilah Weller:||And we’re two of the owners of Workforce PayHub. Last month we talked about the Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act that’s going to be going into effect on March 29th. And Eric is going to give us a little bit of an update before we go into our next segment.|
|Eric Jones:||So I’m gonna call this a legislative update, but we’re not a law firm so we’re just gonna call it a ‘legislative update’. The Paid Medical Leave Act, like Chilah mentioned, is going into effect on March 29th. What this means is is that if you’re an employer with 50 or more employees, you’re required for any employee that works on average 25 hours or more to offer them a paid medical leave time. I’m not going to go into all the details of what kind of time that can be, but we did actually just do a blog post earlier this month on the details and I encourage you to check that out.|
|Eric Jones:||So some of the little details, if they work on average 25 hours or more over the prior 12 months, you need to offer them at least one hour of paid leave for every 35 hours of time worked. So this is gonna be different for some of you because you didn’t offer your part-time employees time off before. So 25 hours or more, they have to have paid leave. This does not apply necessarily to temporary employees that may be only hired for a season or maybe for the summertime, that their employment is not scheduled to continue through the whole year.|
|Eric Jones:||I also wanna do a quick update, at the same time the Paid Medical Leave Act was updated we also have a minimum wage update for Michigan. The current minimum wage is $9.25, the new minimum wage starting March 29th is gonna be $9.45. That is our legislative update.|
|Chilah Weller:||Wow, it sounds like it would be wise to have an expert in this field and to make sure you’re on a platform that-|
|Eric Jones:||That’s why I’m here.|
|Chilah Weller:||… that you’re on … we’re on a platform that can keep track of all of that. So if you’d like to learn more about this, don’t hesitate to contact us at www.workforcepayhub.com and click on the request more info link as well. We would love to speak to you further about this.|
|Eric Jones:||Or give us a call at 517-759-4026 or you can also shoot us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org.|
|Chilah Weller:||Thanks for tuning in.|
|Eric Jones:||Thank you.|
Eric is going to enlighten … Not enlighten us, crap. Eric is going to … How do we wanna segue into that? You don’t wanna call it legislation. Here we go.
Finding a Michigan HR & payroll provider can help tremendously with compliance with Michigan Labor Laws. For more information on Michigan Labor Laws, contact us.